Reading FC in PL Tactic Help

I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to setting up tactics and I would really appreciate some help! For the last few versions of FM I have just used 'plug and play' tactics but for FM20 I want to learn how to build one for myself.

Using the tactic creator I came up with this tactic for my Reading side and somehow won the Chamionship in my 1st season without and additional transfers (must have been luck!) - I was playing a W in place of the IW and I think I was playing the WB's as FB's.

image.thumb.png.f772873846ace93af31934ca68381d23.png

The idea behind this tactic was for the DLPd to offer defensive protection and the AMs to play a more central role whilst the PFa was chasing down the ball.

Playing this high level pressing game clearly didn't work in the PL and despite having a good number of shots in games I was struggling to win any games. I adapted the tactic to something similar to the below, to add more structure to the team and prevent players being pulled out of position.

image.thumb.png.c74284a13bdb2a7e96bb7a3c11c879cd.png

This improved results and I avaoided relegation on the last day of the season (media prediction was to finish bottom).

I thought I had found a couple of tactics that I could build on but I am now strugglin in my second season in the PL. I have signed some better players and the media prediction is 18th (currently in the relegation zone). I have tried both tactics this year - the 1st one against weak opposition and the 2nd against top teams and I seem to have a couple of reccuring themes:

• Tactic 1 creates quite a few chances but few goals. Opposing teams tend to have fewer shots but will win the game.
  • Tactic 2 barely creates any shots (maybe 1 per half). Whilst it is more solid defensively I inevitably lose by a goal or 2 (or more against the very top teams).
  • The AM always performs gets low ratings (6.5 or lower) in both tactics, no matter who plays there.