Sports Interactive Community

Hey guys,

I hope everyone is enjoying the holidays!

I wanted to ask for some perspective on Fluidity in FM20 (or 19, after the "overhaul").

Just as background, like many here, I have been playing since the CM days, but I actually skipped FM19 (kept playing 18). Although I read about the changes at the time, I'm still learning the new system as I go.

I personally like the Barcelona/ Spain/ Guardiola system and a great source for me was a post from some years ago showing a fluid 4-3-3 formation. That has served me as inspiration and base for many versions and tweaks that I have been using all those years.

Then I get to 2020 that at the same time doesn't have the fluidity droplist and has the preset formations including tiki taka and vertical tiki taka.

First thing I quickly realised was that it wasn't easy to get the preset to work (even with tweaks) with my lower league squad, so I gave up and started from scratch. And secondly, I wasn't understanding what exactly was affecting the fluidity display on the left hand corner.

After some time with the game I started to see how it worked and decided to "force it" to fluidity. That was done by having 1 attack duties, 3 defend and 6 support, completely disregarding both the AssMan's suggestion of having 4-5 attack roles with Positive mentality and the rule of thumb of having "a scorer" (IF-a, in this case).

And the result was very interesting. Mainly, and summing it up, because the team got closer to where I wanted them to be (which is the same thing I was using in older versions) and it made sense again to use TI's that weren't working before (like shorter passes and lower tempo).

So, in general terms (because my point wasn't to create a "fix my tactic" post), what's your take on fluidity and duties in FM20? Any tips or suggestions?

If it's the case, would you point me towards a post here or elsewhere that could help me?

Thanks in advance.