Sports Interactive Community
Tigro

How does adding additional tactics work?

I'm a newbie in the FM world so sorry in advance for a beginner question but this one is really hard for me to wrap my head around and I couldn't google the answer. So in the tactics panel, we have the option to add other tactics different from our main one and the assistant also told me that I can train a secondary formation with my team other than the main one. Whenever I try to add a new tactic, though, and I set it up, when I go back to my main one, all the players and their positions are mixed up. If I fix them in the main formation - they get mixed up in the secondary one. How am I supposed to set it up then?

I wanted to create a couple of tactics for different possible situations in a game/the stake of it which I could quickly juggle through depending on the game or just train in general in order to change to a different one for my main in the future but this makes it impossible for me. And don't get me started on trying to add another tactic with different players, too - then even this gets mixed up in the main one and these players appear in a tactic they weren't meant to even be in :(

How do I manage this, then? I guess I'm missing something really trivial cause it'd be unfothamble for a game of this complexity, which basically allows you to micro-manage to the point of choosing at what times the greenkeeper is allowed to go to the loo, not to have such options. Thanks a lot in advance!

You can save a team selection/lineup. Save a lineup for each tactic. Then simply just load the relevant lineup when you select a different tactic.