How to improve my attack? Striker troubles

Hi guys,

Some of you might remember me from previous years. I'm still a rookie, mainly because I usually play 3 months and then only return about a year later - blame FMM. It's because of that I'm only slowly making progress towards a better understanding of the game. So forgive me for returning once more.

This year I started with the preset styles the game has to offer. i started with choosing the possession based style and chose a formation the game suggested to me. I didn't quite like how it played, so I made some adjustments, culminating in what you see below. It worked a treat for me: I used KV Mechelen in the Pro League B in Belgium (second division in Belgium that is). My team was quite strong compared to the others in the division, but nonetheless, 24 wins and 4 draws in a total of 28 games... I thought that wasn't too bad. 

But I did get the feeling that not everything was perfect just yet. My goals are spread out pretty nicely. My right WB got 11 goals, my AP 8, my MEZ 8, my striker 9, my support MC 8, my winger 11,... But my striker got through enormous droughts where he couldn't score for extended periods. Not really a problem since we're still scoring, but the ratings for the strikers are pretty consistently bad. Like 6.3. 

I then switched to Liverpool to get a better feel of how good my tactic actually is. I'll admit the players are not truly suited for this tactic, but it's for experimental purposes. This save confirmed my feeling: the tactic is decent, but is still lacking in certain parts. Namely the striker position. I can't seem to decide on which is the best option for this tactic.