Sports Interactive Community
Sign in to follow this  
okhotnik23

Best tactic setup for mid-table side

Hey guys, I'm kind of new to the FM series, only have 20 hours so far but I'm loving it.

Currently I'm just enjoying playing as a Romanian club thats mid-table/relegation. I know that my best players are my CBs, winger, st and my DLP who i tend to play as a regista which he is accomplished at. 

My question is, what tactic and formation would suite this kind of squad? Im trying to better understand how to process my teams strengths and to what styles would then suit that. 

Thanks for the help!image.thumb.png.33110267c42592c54ecc9f8240752462.png

Welcome to the forum :).

As you are still finding your way around what you could do is click on the "Team Report" menu option then "Squad Depth".  This gives you a guide of where the game thinks you may be strong or weak for various formations which you can pick.  You can also click on "Comparison" which may help give you an idea of how your players rank in terms of ability against other teams in your league.  This may help start you thinking about which formation your team may be suitable for and whether you could play in an aggressive or more passive/counter attacking manner.

Once you start to find your feet and become more accustomed to the game you may find you'll use these options less and less as your own experience kicks in, but it can still be a decent enough way to help get you started.

Also if you fancy some reading, there are plenty of guides linked in the thread pinned to the top of the forum called "Please Read".  Of course if you get really stuck and need some specific tactical advice, feel free to ask :thup:.

Best of luck.

Ask yourself what formation you want to use , 4 backs or 3 backs ?

If you play 3 backs can your winger play as wingback since seems like you short on full back . 

If you play 4 backs how do you set up the midfield base on the team ?