Advice on how to break down packed defences - Bayern Munich

Hi, I'm new to FM and so I've started a game with Bayern Munich to get to grips with it.

I am currently finding that with my current formation & player roles that I'm not creating as many chances as I would like, and I'm struggling to break down defences which have a lot of men behind the ball resulting in a lot of long shots.  Can anyone give me some advice or things to look for to help with this?

My current formation is 4-3-3, I am fairly happy with the defence and midfield setup but I think the issue lies with the front 3 and making sure they get enough support. Lewandowski is currently injured so Muller is playing as the DLF(A).

When Robben comes on the AMR role changes to IF(A) and if Muller were to be playing there the role would change to Raumdeuter. The AML position stays as AP(A) whether it is Rodriguez or Ribery playing there, I think both their attributes suit the role.  

I have considered playing 4-2-3-1 but I would really like to get Thiago, Goretzka and one of Tolisso or Sanches on the pitch.

Thanks in advance for any help

Screenshot 2018-12-06 at 14.45.26.png

If your looking to break down defensive teams with a possession style, why do you have a MEZ-A?  How does having 3 attack duties on the same flank when you change to IF-A / RMD-A help?

Why have all those attack duties focusing on running in behind opponents if your letting them drop deep or cross lots unless that's a strength?

AP-A isn't like other attack duties as he doesn't get forward often but he will be less patient. With so many players focused on forward runs and through balls how does your defensive plan fit with that? 

Have a look at the player movement and how there focus fits (or doesn't) with how you want to create chances.

My two cents for battling smaller teams, but as ever so often: it depends.