Sports Interactive Community
copper

4-1-4-1DM Tactic Problems

Hey all,

I'm having issues with tactics for my 4-1-4-1DM with Real Madrid. Against tough competition I don't possess the ball well and concede a lot due to them having many chances on goal. Against easier competition I dominate the game but score infrequently and at times lose 1-0 or tie 1-1/0-0 due to low chance conversion. I also notice that my players are getting injuries decently often and early in the season. This is my first real season of Football Manager so I'm still learning all the systems but would really love some help!

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 9.16.14 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 9.17.04 AM.png

To begin with, try not to use too many instructions (unless you exactly know what each of them will do and what precisely you want to achieve by using it). For example, I would suggest removing both overlaps and extremely wide play when in possession, distribute to PM in transition (because fullbacks and centrebacks are safer options) and would definitely remove defend wider and use tighter marking when out of possession.

I'd also like to know what's the exact reason to play Ramos on the stopper duty (instead of simple defend)? I don't say it's necessarily wrong, just curious to learn your reasoning behind it.

Hey thanks for the response. So I will try that for sure, I started to kinda throw things at the wall after a while to see what would help after a bad result which in hindsight was a bad idea. I honestly would like to emulate Zidane's real madrid to a certain extent (without Ronaldo of course :( ). My thought with Ramos was reactionary. I was seeing goals being scored from the top of the box due to my CBs being tucked too close to goal so I was hoping this would ensure he would be farther out to break up plays when the CMs were sucked away to the wide men.