[FM 19] United and Loyal: a Norwegian Adventure

Greyfriars Bobby

LA8RBTI.png

United and Loyal:  a Norwegian Adventure

Hello, everyone.  I started playing Football Manager about five years ago, which makes me a relative newcomer to this fascinating game.  I've always loved to write, and about 15 years ago, I started writing "dynasty stories" based on Out of the Park Baseball.  I discovered I enjoyed creating a wider setting for the game on the field; it made my engagement and immersion with my career even more intriguing and fulfilling.

I'm going to see if I can capture that same kind of enjoyment with a FM 19 save.  

Most of my FM experience has taken place in England, so I decided to start with something different this time.  I wanted to manage a big club, but not a world power. I  wanted to experience a different football culture, perhaps one that doesn't get as much attention on the forum.  If the club is located in a beautiful, interesting city, that's even better.  And, although I know I can change my bespoke club's kit any way I choose, I wanted to start with colors I like.  (I don't think I can change the colors of the seats in my stadium, and it annoys me when they clash with the club's home strip.)

That's how I ended up in Norway.  I've used one of the nation's bigger teams, Strømgodset, as the basis of my creation.  My club is still located in the city of Drammen, and I'm leaving it in its home grounds, Marienlyst Stadium.  I'm naming it Gulskogen, after a borough of Drammen that has historical connections to Strømsgodset.  I like Godset's dark blue and white strip, so that's not being changed, either.  

My alter ego, Aidan Harris, is an English manager with Norway as a second nationality.  For the sake of the story, I'm giving Aidan some managerial credentials, rather than starting as an absolute beginner.  My club will have a few full internationals on its roster, and I don't want them scorning the boss for his lack of experience.