Sports Interactive Community
JohanCruyff#14

Building a club from Top to Bottom

I’ve been playing Football Manager for over 20 years now, but still admit to struggling from time to time, particularly on the tactical side as the game has gotten more in depth. Up until relatively recently, my playing patterns were pretty predictable. I’d fire up a game and start a save as one of my three favorite teams, Aston Villa, D.C. United, or A.C. Milan. Over the last few years that pattern hasn’t been as enjoyable, partly because despite their real-world struggles, these teams were relatively easy to resurrect and make successful. I wanted a different type of challenge. Shortly after the release of FM16, I started a save with Italian Serie C side, A.C. Pavia, and got them promoted to Serie B at the first attempt. It was the most enjoyment I got out of a save in years, then not long into my second season, my laptop died, and that was that.

I finally got around to replacing that laptop and here I am with FM18, suffering from the same predictability pattern. So, I’m going back to Italy. I grew up watching Serie A in the 1990s, and have always been a fan of the league. I have two aims here:

I.            Find a team that has never enjoyed success at the highest level

II.            Make them my team

The first aim easy to achieve, there are an abundance of such teams in any nation. The second aim, well that’s a little more obscure. But here’s what I want to do, build the club along a predetermined set of philosophies that are not necessarily outlined or guided by the board. Essentially, I want to change the DNA of a club, and I see this being defined in 3 ways:

·         Youth Development

·         Tactical Philosophy

·         Recruitment Policy

How do I hope to achieve these defining features of the club’s DNA? I have some basic ideas.

Youth Development