Sports Interactive Community
Sign in to follow this  
Mactier

Guidiola's Inverted Wing-backs.

Hi all.   After doing some research I am rather taken by the Inverted Wing back style of Guidiola.   However I'm in FM17 and need input on the attacking wingers.

In the 4123 DM wide formation my wingers are excellent wide-attackers.  However the videos I've watched point towards a 4141 with attacking midfield wingers.   In the 4123 the wingers don't come back as much as I'd like and the 4141 they don't seem to attack the byline as often.  Admittedly I'm still a novice at FM but I'm determined to be a hands-on manager and not a tactic downloader.

The APs' and the rest seem to play as intended although the holes my IWBs' leave behind are a bit of concern.  But its the wingers I am asking about.   What are the best PIs to give both formations4141.thumb.png.96d2149145880d4a7cc5d775987f8b25.png aggressive attacking wide-wingers yet still double back to chip in in defense?   (The striker is now an AF not DLF in pic.)AaLFRESCO.thumb.png.f74d303721875c4b9c21067e92600c22.png

12 minutes ago, Mactier said:

What are the best PIs to give both formations aggressive attacking wide-wingers yet still double back to chip in in defense?

Tactical settings are just one half of the equation.  So your duty selection will have an impact (an Attack duty being more forward thinking than a Support duty) as will things such as your Mentality selection.  Open up the PI screen and watch how the mentality bar changes as you change your team mentality for example.

The other half of the equation - and one that is far too often overlooked - is the player himself.  For example, give two different players - one with a high Workrate, the other with a low Workrate - the exact same role and duty and who do you think will work harder for the team?  Who'll be willing to track back more often?