Sports Interactive Community
Sign in to follow this  
pantelas2002

Scouts returning 0 reports since more than two years, is this normal?

Hey all, old FM player here,  started playing FM 2018 a while ago with my favourite Cadbury Athletic (activated 10th tier of English football). I am now in Southern League Premier Division, year 2020, and the thing that puzzles me most is the revamped scouting system.

I have in total 10 scouts (I know, unrealistic, tell that to the board not me!!!) and I have them scouting for First Team Players, Ongoing, nothing else is selected. 3 of those found just 4 players in total, whilst the others have been scouting for 2 years or more, and found 0 players!!! I'm no newbie in FM, so I don't get what I'm doing wrong. I have also bought the England package.

The thing is, I have great players which most of the time I identify asking my Director of Football to suggest me players, in the transfers tab. But he only suggests 3 players at a time, and for specific positions. Why aren't those players found by my scouts though??? 

It seems to work better in the higher levels, but I had the same as you in non-league. In the Conference (so playable in vanilla not mods), 3 scouts set to scout the Conference found 0 players. In the league I was in, they only had to turn up to home games to find them!

On FM18 you wont receive long individual reports on your inbox anymore and the system is a little different. Try going to Scouting > Players Search... and check some players, there should be some players scouted.

Or you are using too many filters on the scout or the search... or maybe you dont have anyone assigned to manage the scout schedules or to update you with the reports (Staff > Responsibilities > Overall > Scouting).