FM18: Mexico in the Libertadores

jeid2000

Hello, in FM18 I plan to manage in Mexico, but I'd like to have Mexican teams qualifying for the Libertadores rather than the CONCACAF CL. Is there an easy way to implement this? Was planning to have a test run on FM17 to see how well it works.

Sorry, I'm not very good with the editor and hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks

I think the easiest way is making new formats for both Libertadores and the CONCACAF CL, then you can choose which countries have participants in each competition.

It would be a challenge to make the same formats as in real life though.

12 hours ago, jeid2000 said:

Hmm, that does indeed sound like a pain. Is that pretty much the only way round it?

I haven't tried the 'advanced rules', but maybe it could be edited there. Either way, the advanced rules are pretty complicated to edit.

I've tried recreating the competitions in the editor and Mexico never seems to join in first season, even with changing the registered teams. The Copa Lib seems to change slightly in the second season, with the standard game files. I'm wondering if it'd be easier to edit if Mexico weren't in the CL in the first place.

On 25/09/2017 at 18:25, jeid2000 said:

Is there some guides to doing that?

I don't think there is any.

3 hours ago, jeid2000 said:

I've tried recreating the competitions in the editor and Mexico never seems to join in first season, even with changing the registered teams. The Copa Lib seems to change slightly in the second season, with the standard game files. I'm wondering if it'd be easier to edit if Mexico weren't in the CL in the first place.

Yes, Mexican teams don't play in the first season, then return in the second season, when the format also changes a bit.

• 1 year later...
On 27/09/2017 at 21:15, PMLF said:

I don't think there is any.

Yes, Mexican teams don't play in the first season, then return in the second season, when the format also changes a bit.