Sports Interactive Community
Goosewinkle

SI needs to fix the mid-season collapse

Ok time for a rant:  I'll attach a screenshot, although I don't even need to because you've all seen it a hundred times.  It's one of the biggest sources of frustration on these forums, and it has existed in the game for as long as I can remember (my first FM was 09).  I have never played a save that didn't do this.

How on earth am I 6-1-0 at the beginning of the season?  It's obviously not because I'm a brilliant manager.  It's certainly not realistic and certainly bad game design to let the user think he's doing great only to later bash his ego to pieces without any explanation.  Not to mention all the confusion and forum rants it causes.

The explanation I always see is that the game underestimates my team at the beginning but catches on.  Ok fine.  So if SI knows what causes this, why won't they fix it?  

20170706010504_1.jpg

So you're implying that SI have made a conscious decision to code in that you will have a good start to the season, purely for the cosmetic reason of boosting a user's confidence, and then deliberately code that that should all change mid-season?

Aye, ok then.

There is a common misconception about this game (partly due to the type of feedback available in game and the fact it isn't made more obvious) related to these mid-season collapses. 

Essentially the problem is this. You are by the looks of your screenshot New England but this applies to a number of teams across the game. When you start the season you're not an especially strong team so other teams will look at you and think "They're not a great side, so we'll either retain a balanced or attacking formation/tactic/style against them".