Team Instructions - Direct Football

Hi 

I am a beginner to FM and would like some advice on what team instructions people set when playing Direct Football?

As much as I seem to have grasped Possession football I am looking at ways to setup a Direct Style when playing bigger teams away from home or European games. I found I was one of those players who selected every TI under the sun and have realised how wrong this has been so tend to limit myself to 5 but I am very open to suggestions on what team instructions people use for Counter Attacking Direct Football.

Cheers

David

Counter attacking mentality with a flexible team shape seems to work well. Defensive line slightly deeper, less closing down. That's a pretty solid defensive basis. Clear ball to flanks, get stuck in and more direct passing work will with this, too, at least with my squad.

Check this (if you haven't already):

It may be the best guide out there for a counter-attack tactic.

And let me give you some advice (thanks to @herne79 for helping me clearing out some of this in my mind):

A counter-attack is triggered when the opponent (or you) commit more men forwards.
When a counter-attack is triggered, it overrides any tactical instructions you set.
Any tactical instructions you set will be used for the rest of the time.

So, how to trigger a counter-attack?
-by having your men stay deeper in order for the opponent to commit more men forwards and,
-by closing down less so that more opponents will have to attack you (since they won't be able to find spaces to exploit).

Which TI's do not help with triggering a counter-attack?
-Use Offside Trap. Only effective with a higher defensive line.
-Prevent Short GK Distribution. You want the opponent to play his game.
-Retain Possession. You want the opponent to play his game.
-Pass Into Space. A little bit risky. You might consider not having that TI.

Which duties do not help with triggering a counter-attack?