Sports Interactive Community
Sign in to follow this  
JPKD

"We're building something here detective"

aitor-karanka.jpg

The Premise:

My plan is to translate Aitor Karanka’s 4-2-3-1 come 4-4-1-1 into a workable Football Manager tactic and further my knowledge of the Football Manager Match Engine and football tactics at the same time. Why Karanka and why now? Firstly I am a Middlesbrough manager, for my sins, and now is the appropriate time due to the fact that Boro now appear on the FourFourTwo StatsZone app (with 10 games to trawl through). All this makes it much easier to gather together real life highlights and matches now they are in the Premier League. 

Some Boro fans may wonder why I’m looking to replicate Karanka - some might says it’s dull and defensive - but I’m a big fan his system and the team he has built plus it should be possible to build it within FM. On recent editions of FM I have found myself tinkering with a simple tactic until it works and forging ahead until it stops working. This will be my first attempt to do something like this and I intend for it to be in depth. 

It won’t be a quick process and I may not touch it for a while before continuing with it at a later date. My initial plan is to blitz the set up before the full release of the game and start building things in game on Friday. This save will run concurrent to my other personal games. My intention is to pay attention to detail and take my time to analyse, reflect and act on what I have seen. Much of my research has been done on this forum and the in-depth Lines and Diamonds resource.