My Place in This World

BrnwsBucksFanNC

Here I am, an American, trying to figure the rest of my life out. I am 31 years old and living in England. This is not the way I planned for things to work out, this wasn't my "big plan" but here we are....

This is not where a guy from the mid-west expected to be. All I ever wanted to do was be a firefighter and be in the military. So at 19, I joined up, college wasn't for me, but traveling, firefighting, that was my life. I was sent to England, my first time outside of the US. Talk about a change, my home town had 750 people and here I was 60 miles from London! I found a girl, not just any girl, but the "one" or so I thought.. We ended up getting married and I was posted back to the states and took my new bride with me. After 3 years, and our first child, back to Europe I went. My career was taking off like a rocket. I was a damn good firefighter. But along the way there were injuries, first it was my lung, smoke inhalation, then my knee, more than once. I don't regret getting that pilot out and it was nice he came to see me in the hospital, but I never knew it would end my career. Anyway, fast forward to a 29 year old who after 10 years of the military life decided to move on, little did I realize my "wife" had moved on as well so I lost my family (3 kids by now), my job and my home. I had settled in England before the divorce so back to the states I went.