Using Nicknames and Numbers for Squad Management and Player Development

I decided to write something about a strategy I've developed on FM16 involving nicknames and numbers, and Cleon was kind enough to publish it on SI Sports Centre. I thought I'd post it on here as well to see what people think.

I’d like to start off by saying that I’m not very good at Football Manager. That’s not me trying to be humble, it’s the honest truth, which is partly why I’ve hopped from game to game to game this year trying to find a save I can stick with. I actually enjoy reading about other people’s saves and about how they play the game more than playing the game myself, although that’s partly to do with the lack of success as mentioned above. I’m not particularly great with tactics and that side of the game doesn’t interest me as much, so I don’t always do well with that aspect of FM. I’m more interested in squad management and signing players, although don’t call me a wheeler dealer…

I’ve always found it interesting reading about how other people find interesting ways of bringing the game to life, like when StatApp had his spreadsheets which I tried to emulate, which was fun. Cleon’s article about using notes was also interesting because that’s something I hadn’t thought of. I think I’ve now found my own, unique way of managing which suits me, and I thought I’d write about it since it’s made the game more engaging for me despite my lack of tactical prowess. It’s also something I’ve not seen anybody talk about: using nicknames for something other than giving players funny names.