Should player attributes scale up/down to a league?

I’m playing this new EHM from a different perspective since I played the last retail release several years ago. Back then I played only NHL as that was the only league I had any sort of knowledge about. In the years since we’ve had an EIHL team come in locally. (Braehead Clan) So I’ve been supporting them and following the Elite League since 2010.

I’ve found trying to sign or select players for my line-up as Clan GM rather difficult to suss. Particularly for British players as some of their attributes are so low its makes it so hard to tell if they’d be any use whatsoever on my team. It’s also hard to tell what is deemed “very good” for the EIHL. Does 10 speed actually translate to 20 in the EIHL for example? I’ve been able to sign up Eirk Cole and Keith Aulle for the Clan who have much easier to assess stats, but I doubt I’d be able to get players like that again in future seasons.

Just a few examples, Ben Davies who is a fast skating, very skilled and offers a lot of flair is rated only 7 for deking, flair and accelerating, then just 9 for speed. David Clarke (considered one of the league’s best ever snipers) is only rated 8 for slapshots and 12 for wrist, and even more bizarrely 3 for positioning & 5 for off the puck. Then Jonathan Boxall, a player who may not be the most skilled, is still an absolute work horse type player who gives 100% and is rather physical. Is only rated 7 & 10 for team work and work rate, along with a 5 for hitting and 6 for checking.

I understand these might be fair values in the “global” hockey world scheme of things, and you can’t put those up as higher up teams would just take them for buttons and really mess with things. Should instead player attributes perhaps scale depending on what league a player is in?