A sunday afternoon in Germany – Implementing grassroots German tactics into FM 2015

To begin with, I guess a thread title like this one requires a little bit of backstory and explanation...

As well as a virtual football manager, i'm also a keen footballer in real life (keen doesn't mean good!) and having moved to Germany last year, I set about finding myself a small local team that would take on the responsibility of having a strange “Engländer” in their midst. Fortunately, I was taken up by a team from a small town of about 2500 inhabitants – proper grassroots stuff! - and I have spent this current season with them soaking in the culture and adjusting to the German game.

In this thread, I will be attempting to recreate the tactics that the team plays with most weeks, as I introduce (most of) you to some interesting role terminology from the German game.

(I should also add beforehand that I currently wish to keep the club and players anonymous as i'm not sure how they'd feel to be the subject of a nerdy thread on football tactics)

First we'll start with a sketch that I asked my coach to make of how he thinks the team lines up:

image.jpg

Defenders are on the left and attackers on the right, just to clear that up straight away.

Now what you may have noticed is that the letters next to the dots don't all readily attribute themselves to positions and roles that the majority of us are familiar with. I'll walk you through them:

L – Libero – Ok, the role does exist in Football Manager and it has been a key one down the years, but in recent times it has faded from the top level of football due in part to changes in the offside rule and increasing fitness levels.

MD – Manndecker (literally “man coverer”) - Another role that has faded in recent years as it essentially denotes the player purely as a man-marker. The idea in defence here is to simply match the opposition man-to-man, rather than outnumber them or defend space.