Sports Interactive Community

I have some questions regarding training. I've searched some answers, but most discussion I've seen in this sub-forum seems to center around tactics and tactic creation. I apologize if there is an in depth topic answering my questions that I've missed.

First off, I'm playing FM 2015, not familiar with versions before (I had played FM 2008 before, but that was a long time ago). And I just started playing, so not a seasoned player..

1) I'm looking at a player's development, the player Thiago Alcantara, a 22 year old midfield-DM/AM ©, and on his development screen, almost all coaches advice that he should be put on an individual training regime to improve his ability to mark players, even though he is on a positional training (central midfield-all duties) which covers that. What I did was, I wanted him to learn marking as a PPM, so I asked my 4.5 star defending coach/asst coach (Mauro Tassotti) to teach him that, but he said "I don't see this player capable of doing that. I think it would be beneficial if he learned xxxxx instead".

Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm interpreting this as the coaches are asking me to put him on a training to improve something that he's not capable of doing to begin with..

Am I correct or am I misinterpreting this?

2) I started the game with players like Lewandowski, Muller, Robben, all of who have excellent finishing abilities, with Robben providing excellent scoring from long shots, and players like Ribery and Gotze who also have good finishing, not excellent, but fairly good when they find chances inside the box.