Sports Interactive Community
diddydaddydoddy

Playing with 2 Trequartistas / playmakers...

What, in general, are the likely affects of playing with 2 trequartistas or 2 advanced playmakers upon the team? Thinking of BRs Liverpool playing with Coutinho and Lallana behind Sterling as a false nine. Do they get in each others way, double/half creative opportunities, how do you get them to compliment/play together etc?

False nines also act as playmakers quite often, so that trio will be stepping on eachother's toes. Seek to have some players make runs into the box instead of dedicating themselves to creating opportunities by passing.

i've only just bought the game so i've no real experience on this year's match engine. but i was thinking about starting with liverpool as well as they have an intriguing side if your tactical preference is to play down the middle.

i'd try and offer multiple playmaking options. in a trio of lallana, sterling and coutinho i'd try a false nine in front of a trequartista and a shadow striker. if your false nine gets marked out of the game you still have your trequartista to play through and vice versa. the shadow striker was hard to mark in '14 thus very effective.

I would always try and get your playmakers to offer something different, so in my side I have a Wide Playmaker and an Advanced Playmaker, so they are in different areas of the pitch, so they are not in each others way

IMO Coutinho is the only "playmaker" in that front 3 IRL. Yes the other 2 may be more creative than your standard Attacking Mids, but he's the main man.

Check out the box midfield thread for some thoughts around LFC's current set up.

I would always try and get your playmakers to offer something different, so in my side I have a Wide Playmaker and an Advanced Playmaker, so they are in different areas of the pitch, so they are not in each others way

Yeah, worked a 4-4-1-1 system with the same setup myself. Seems to work pretty well.