Sports Interactive Community
ScotchWhisky

Should Football Manager switch to a release every 2 years?

Should FM switch to a release every 2 years?  

476 members have voted

1. 1. Should FM switch to a release every 2 years?

• Yes, with the roster update for the off year
    • Yes, without the roster update for the off year
    • No, it is fine the way it is
    • Other - Please explain below

Though I am relatively new to Football Manager, I find the issue with it to be like a lot of the other sports games on the market. Annual releases cause two things to happen. 1) Few new features are implemented. 2) Games are released with more bugs than should be acceptable.

I've noticed some people in the past say they always wait for three to six months after release to buy the game so it's been patched and a more enjoyable experience. I've also personally noticed that the game really doesn't get fixed. For example, FM '13 had a lot of bugs when SI announced they were done patching the game. One important bug I noticed that never got fixed was the odds. If your team was a heavy underdog, then a lot of times in the pep talk, the options you'd be given were as if you were a favorite or vice versa. While that may not be a major deal, in a game where morale is super important, it *could* have had a major impact on the game. Especially if you had a press conference before hand addressing opposite odds.

FM14's big selling point was having over 1,000 game improvements. That sounds like a lot, but I am sure the majority are things no one notices... many of them may also have been bug fixes from '13 labeled as an improvement.