Older Players more useful than before?

Ever since I started playing FM/CM some years ago, I've tended to be a bit of an age fascist, culling (not literally) the older members of the squad. Once I'd achieved some measure of success, even my best players (sometimes the best player in the world in their position) would be sold to the highest bidder aged 29/30 to be replaced by an exciting prospect in the squad. Very occasionally I would keep a club legend around as a rotation/backup player with a view to them becoming a coach, but almost always I would let them go and be operating with young players and continually recycling.

However on FM15, I've noticed that I'm keeping senior members of the squad until much older and still finding them to be useful contributors well into their mid to late 30s, even as their stats decline, and really enjoying it.

I was just wondering how other people tackle the age issue, whether they have noticed any discernible difference in FM15 or whether maybe I'm just becoming more tolerant towards ageing members of our society?

I almost always have the youngest team in the league.

Only at the start in the really low leagues do I tend to have a lot of older players. There are just less options of other players and they aren't going to be there for more than a couple of seasons anyway. After that I switch from the right now mentality of using an old player to the much great upside of using youngsters, some of which will stay about until they're older but its rare that someone else doesn't come along or a tempting transfer offer is made in the 10 years they might have as a first team player.