[FM14] El Ricardo's Scottish Alternative

It's been some time since I edited a league on a large scale (heck, I've been playing a mammoth FM11 save for the past 3 years!); but decided to finally put a proposed Scottish league re-organisation in to practice with the current release of FM14. I've had the organisation of the teams tucked away in an Excel spreadsheet for about a year and a half and what with the small steps being taken in real life to further produce a more meritocratic pyramid system, I thought I'd have a go with my own.

Firstly, the main premise is that this edit has decent investment at the top level, thanks in part to the sponsorship of Scottish whisky manufacturer Johnnie Walker and record a TV deal for Scottish football from BT Sport. Don't worry, the money isn't ridiculous and not over-powered. It does allow the teams that are not Celtic to 'catch up' somewhat though. The prize money for each league is more or less how the recent restructure is at present (see here) albeit adjusted accordingly with regards to the 16-16-16 league distribution.

The three leagues that constitute the SPFL are as follows:

Johnnie Walker SPFL Premiership

(16 teams - current league + top four from real 1st Division last season).

b2t6.png

Johnnie Walker SPFL Championship

(16 teams - bottom six teams from real 1st Division last season + 2nd Division).

pkyy.png

Johnnie Walker SPFL National League

(16 teams - current SPFL League 2 + the champions of Highland League; EoS Prem; Junior West Superleague; Junior East Premier League as well as Formartine United; Clydebank and Spartans).

yc7p.png

Below all of this is the newly constructed 'Alliance' system. Somewhat similar to the non-league system in England, we have as follows (18 teams in each):

McVitie's All of Scotland Alliance

Then we regionalise in to two:

Press & Journal Highland Alliance One

Stagecoach Lowland Alliance One

...then in to three:

Press & Journal Highland Alliance Two