Why is 4231 working so terribly on FM13?

First of all, I started playing FM13 with the latest patch, so that's where I've got my experience from.

I have had great success in this version. An effective 442 formation is pretty much what I've used when I achieved said success. However, a 4231, which works quite well IRL (a majority of top clubs today use 4231 as their main formation, and 442 is getting less used), is just working terribly. I can't see any reasons why it shouldn't work either, really. I've tried it with wingers and IFs, with small success. IFs seem to be completely useless with this patch, especially in a 4231 formation. Can someone tell me why it works so bad on FM, but good IRL? And if someone here has been having success with either IFs and/or 4231 here, please inform me and tell me what you have done to make it work. If someone could enlighten me why 442 works so well in this version, that'd be great, too.

As always, appreciate feedback. :)

I've had great success with a 4231 on FM and most of that success came from my IF's, which saw Valencia get 14 assists in two straight seasons and Young score about 12 goals.

You should post up what team you're playing with, what roles that you're using and etc etc. so somebody more knowledgeable can help you out with it.

I have either played

Keeper

FB support - CB defend - CB defend - FB support

BWM defend - DLP support

IF attack - FP support - IF attack

Poacher

or the same but with two CM, one with a supporting duty and the other with a defensive. Have also tried to switch the FP to AM, or one of the IFs as a winger, but nothing really seems to work. I create chanches, just not goals. Usually play short passes, press more, zonal marking. Have tried with and without counter, offside trap, etc but haven't found anything decent.

Cleon would want you to read this: http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php/327822-Asking-For-Help-PLEASE-READ-THIS

Just from the roles their are a couple of dodgy things.