Sports Interactive Community
AjaxNo1

Getting bored of losing - HELP!!!!

Im a footy manager veteran since the very start and this is the only one I havnt worked out.

Ive had 4 seasons with Gladbach in Germany and had 1 good run of form and got a league title, the same tactic that got me a 36 game unbeaten run got me sacked by November the following season

So Ive just took over a struggling Napoli team tried a new tactic and got battered in 2 games.

With Napoli Im trying a back 4, 2 holding midfielders, 2 wingers, an attacking inside forward playing behind a deep lying forward on support

The main problems I have and had with Gladbach are keeping the ball, getting it into the box so I can score, stopping their wide men running down the goal line upto the post and knocking it in and stopping them running through my team full stop

My defenses always seem to have 60-70 pass completion so thats where the possesion is going

I dont want this to start into a the ME is **** and this game is unplayable, just need a way of winning, I tried 100's (not literally) of tactics over the 5 seasons and with other saved games

any hints will be grateful

Confidence low? I find that, in this version more than before, if morale starts to sap, it's almost imperative to use some form of a parked bus to get a positive result or two to break the chain. Since the defense is having trouble keeping possession, you might try shifting that inside forward back into a fifth center-back, and play 5-2-2-1, allowing your fullbacks to be more aggressive, and making it tough for the opposition to get through you, even if possession remains a difficult task.

Thats probably the issue at Napoli Im more looking at the game as a whole, Ive had 2/3 a good season out of about 7 Im looking at a more consistent formula to try and win

I sort the club out from top to bottom get top coaches upgrade all the facilities but cant get it right on the pitch

The AI will counter everything you do.