Can you be successful with a 442?

Has anyone put together a successful 442 formation on FM12?

I know the formation has lost popularity in real life with the emergence of the 433/4231 but surely 442 can still work at a high level. I have played six months with Newcastle with mixed results, the main problem seems to be in attack where I just can't seem to create many chances.

Is there anything that a manager can do to the 442 to make it a lot more potent? What do you guys think?

I cant really say that im an expert on the formation since I mostly watch spanish and italian football, so it was very much trial and error for me, and since I was playing a system that is somewhat alian to me I did ofcorse make some useless transfers, looking back at it

would you consider this good enough?:

END OF SEASON UPDATE 2011/2012

Premier league:

pretty pleased with how this part went, we slowly grinded our way forward, got a bit lucky at times, and droped some easy points at times, and almost lost our gripp of the last CL spot in the very last round by drawing to Bolton

stokeleague1.png

FA cup:

managed to overcome Blackburn, Wolves and Liverpool. before going out to City in a match I thought I had won with a late goal to make it 2-1 in the 85th min, but ofcorse it was not to be after Millner equlised in the 89th, and Micha Richards finished me of in the 92nd

Carling cup:

made it all the way to the final, and just like mentioned, lost it to Wolves, with Spurs in the semi being the hardest obstical to overcome

Europa league:

went unbeaten through a group containing Shalke, Anderlecht and Maribor, then I managed to narrowly beat Leverkusen 4-3 on agregate before being knocked out by Lazio on away goals (1-1)

Transfers: