santy001

Confused about this sending off.

22 posts in this topic

You can see the 10 or so minutes building up to the red card, and just like in the actual match nothing of particular note happened to warrant a red card. In the actual game itself Kevin Davies was running down the left, Shawcross came across and tackled him. Andy Wilkinson was in the box without a single Stoke or Bolton player within several yards of him. Yet somehow, as soon as Shawcross made the tackle he got sent off.

sent_off.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The video only adds to the oddness of the sending off. It's just uploading now and then I'll post it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here it is, you can see Wilkinsons name pop up as he crosses the ball and then track his movements from there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something definitely isn't right there, certainly worth uploading the match pkm for SI to have a look at.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the only thing I can think of is he is booked for an earlier incident but I don't think I have seen this done in fm?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The sending off isn't so much the problem, its the entire lack of explanation about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well, really the sending off is the problem, Can't really see any reason for it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
the only thing I can think of is he is booked for an earlier incident but I don't think I have seen this done in fm?

I think this is possibly the answer.

He was booked as soon as the ball went of play which suggests an earlier incident, maybe not covered by the highlights - need to view full match.

Upload the pkm though and SI will take a look.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only if the ref played advantage on a previous bookable offense but as La Furia Roja said, i don't think i ever saw that on FM.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Neither did I. And certainly it would still require an according explanation in the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not included in the game. Even if it was, I'm sure it would take less than eight minutes to get the ball out of play and the incident would be described in match report.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had a couple weird send offs like that as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
the only thing I can think of is he is booked for an earlier incident but I don't think I have seen this done in fm?

Thing is if he is now picking up a second yellow card for an earlier incident then that isn't allowed.

If a player commits an offence that leads to a straight red or a second yellow then the referee is obliged to stop the game and send the player off. He cannot go back and do it later like he can with a first caution.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thing is if he is now picking up a second yellow card for an earlier incident then that isn't allowed.

If a player commits an offence that leads to a straight red or a second yellow then the referee is obliged to stop the game and send the player off. He cannot go back and do it later like he can with a first caution.

... unless, of course, there is a clear and obvious goal scoring opportunity, which doesn't seem to be the case here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thing is if he is now picking up a second yellow card for an earlier incident then that isn't allowed.

If a player commits an offence that leads to a straight red or a second yellow then the referee is obliged to stop the game and send the player off. He cannot go back and do it later like he can with a first caution.

Yes, according to the Laws of the Game 2011/12.

The referee may play advantage whenever an infringement or offence occurs.

The referee should consider the following circumstances in deciding whether to apply the advantage or stop play:

If the infringement warrants an expulsion, the referee must stop play and send off the player unless there is a subsequent opportunity to score a goal.

Unless the ME thought it was an attacking move and the ref should play on as it presented an opportunity to score a goal? Just throwing it out there, personally I don't think this is the case as it was not a CCC.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, according to the Laws of the Game 2011/12.

The referee may play advantage whenever an infringement or offence occurs.

The referee should consider the following circumstances in deciding whether to apply the advantage or stop play:

If the infringement warrants an expulsion, the referee must stop play and send off the player unless there is a subsequent opportunity to score a goal.

Unless the ME thought it was an attacking move and the ref should play on as it presented an opportunity to score a goal? Just throwing it out there, personally I don't think this is the case as it was not a CCC.

The laws of the game are not at all relevant here. We all know that irl the ref can wait with a booking until the next stop in the game.

The issue is though, that this is not in FM. And that there was no sign of any infringement whatsoever. And no indication of any, even if there had been an infringement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its ok saying it could of happened earlier and I have seen yellows given after the end of a piece of play due to allowing advantage but that video was actually quite a long passage of play where the ball went from one end of the pitch to the other! Stoke were actually attacking at the start anyway so play wouldn't of got that far if the foul was before hand. Got to say this sending off is a total mystery but the match engine certainly wanted Wilkinson sent off!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The laws of the game are not at all relevant here. We all know that irl the ref can wait with a booking until the next stop in the game.

The issue is though, that this is not in FM. And that there was no sign of any infringement whatsoever. And no indication of any, even if there had been an infringement.

How do you know its not in FM?

I can't say for certain but I think I've seen refs book players for earlier incidents, I could be wrong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The laws of the game are not at all relevant here. We all know that irl the ref can wait with a booking until the next stop in the game.

The issue is though, that this is not in FM. And that there was no sign of any infringement whatsoever. And no indication of any, even if there had been an infringement.

I think you misunderstand. We are saying that the ref CANNOT wait until it goes out of play for a second caution unless it is a clear scoring opportunity, which it was not.

If you read all of the posts, I as well as others have said that we have never seen this enforced in FM.

I think it is a bug in the ME personally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would just like to say although this does appear to be a serious issue and people have made some good points, that i found this video hilarious.

having played so much of football manager over the last few years and championship manager before that i don't think i've ever seen the ref play advantage and then book/send off a player after like in fifa. however i haven't watched a game in 3d in a very long time and it is really weird that there is NOTHING in the match report to say why he got a yellow, dissent? but even if it is something it should be included in the match report which is why i think it's %100 a bug.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think you misunderstand. We are saying that the ref CANNOT wait until it goes out of play for a second caution unless it is a clear scoring opportunity, which it was not.

If you read all of the posts, I as well as others have said that we have never seen this enforced in FM.

I think it is a bug in the ME personally.

I totally agree.

My perception of the rules is that a ref CAN wait with a second yellow card at his own discretion until the next stop of play and the restriction to that discretion only applies in case a straight red is to be given. But anyway.

Given that nobody has ssen it in the game so far, it's safe to assume it's not in there and thus I agree it's a ME bug.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.