NFL Style League Structure

Ryderrr

Hey guys, I hope this isn't a commonly covered subject but I had a quick search and couldn't find anything.

Basically I've been using the editors for a couple of years now and have done so to create a few fictional leagues. However there's been one idea I've never managed to create completely and that is the creation of an NFL-style league.

For those of you who don't know, It works pretty much the same as in American Basketball too:

League split into two conferences (AFC and NFC) of 16 teams each

Conferences split into regional divisions (North, South, East West) of four teams each.

This would be just fine but it means that the sides only play their divisional rivals, whereas in the NFL they play outside of their division for 16 fixtures.

Ideally, what I would like to do is that, except set the fixtures so that they only play teams in the same conference twice (thus creating a season of 30 'regular' season matches before the playoffs). I know that there is an option to set specific fixtures but this would take aaaaageeess and I'm hoping that there's an easier or quicker way to do this.

In a nutshell what I'm asking for a bit of guidance as to whether my idea is possible to implement, and if so, how. I apologise for the long OP but I'd really like to try this out and then, if enough people are interested, upload it for others.

Thanks!

Actually the easiest way would be to create it using specific fixtures.

You should take a look at the Advanced Rules thread, and download the activation then download the comps file, as that has the MLS included, and that should help you towards your goal. But you should be able to do this with Nation Rules and specific fixtures.

If you want to do it like the NFL it will be hard though with the way their fixtures work

6 div games, 4 games against 1 AFC div and 4 games against 1 NFC div plus 2 based on their previous seasons result and a bye

Im pretty sure thats how it is