Very basic question

Hi,

I'm new to the game and haven't been able to locate any tutorials. I scanned around the help and couldn't find an answer either.

I want to set my starting lineup. How do I do that? And does my youth team have a starting lineup also that I need to set? And can a player on my youth team play on my main team? And if I have a youth academy and good youth training how do I A) recruit players to my youth squad and B) manage the youth academy?

Also if I have players on loan to other teams do I have to wait for the loan period to expire to get them back? And I'm not exactly sure to tell how long the loan will last.

Probably 90% of players know these answers but they are stumping me as a new guy.

Thanks!

Hi and welcome!

There isn't a tutorial per se but there are loads of helpful threads in the various forums. If you press F1 ingame you can get help on particular elements of the game.

To set your lineup, leftclick the box just to the right of your players name and select from the positions there, alternatively rightclick to select players in order. You can set the youthteam lineup, but most people dont and I wouldnt recommend it for a newcomer. The assistant will take care of it.

The youth team operates alongside the first team, not separately. You can move players back and forth freely, select from the 'squad' button in the top right of their profile. If you sign a player young enough, just stick him into the youth team or reserves unless hes ready for the first team. Not sure what you mean with B, you dont really manage it, but you get a fresh batch of 7-8 players every year from your academy, if you have one.

You can set a 'can be recalled' clause in a loan deal, but most preset loan deals dont have them, and it is very rare with loans involving future fees. You can tell how long the loan is, and how much of the players wages each club is paying, in the 'Contract' section of the player's profile.

Hope that helps, enjoy FM