[Discussion] Could need of updating added league files be avoided?

rristola

First, I'm not familiar with Editors. But I use Editor files a lot.

Problem that I would like to go away - with every database update there is also the need to update all league files. Is this really the best solution? Any other way to organize the structure of league files?

My idea is, that league files could be divided into two separate files - league rules etc. (everything NOT dependent on database) and the NEW part of league file (all dependent stuff).

But, as I wrote, I have no knowledge of what stuff there are in those league files and why they don't get verified with new databases, but I hate that good league files are not updated and therefore can't be used later on.

So, write comments - could this be done, need for this, etc.

34 minutes ago, FootballHedgehog said:

Unfortunately I'm pretty sure this is an impossible ask because of how the database is structured. It would make things significantly easier on mod makers, but I don't think it's possible.

At least in some Steam games Mods can be dependent on some other Mod(s). One of them is Cities:Skylines, I think.

So, if the Editor first loads the vanilla database, could it then load also an another, user made Mod with league rules, and use them both at the same time adding/changing data into the other user made Mod, and SAVE them into two separate files?

All that data from user's database would be shown just the same way in the Editor as everything from the vanilla database. Or, maybe another color...

On the other hand, wouldn't it be much more easier to make those league structures. Just choose needed one from pulldown menu in every step. I have heard that getting those league rules to work correctly can be pain in the... It shouldn't be...

One problem is if teams have been deleted from the database in the update - I know that's caused problems for mod makers in the past.