[FM22] A Mercantile Approach IV: KAA Gent

MarcxD

A Mercantile Approach

Welcome to my first FM22 thread, quite belatedly. It looked like FM22 would be the first fm since I started playing with FM 2009 that I would skip, for a variety of reasons, but in the end I just couldn't away for ever. :onmehead:

I have had a variety of careers over the years on these forums, mostly long-term one club saves in smaller countries like Andorra, Kosovo, Estonia and Malta. This time, however, I am planning something different: a multi-club, multi-country save. First, some context.

In my professional work as a researcher and my academic background in history, for the last month or so I have been researching the history of Dutch wine merchants in the 17th and 18th century for a client. Not particularly relevant here, but it has inspired me to start a FM save with a mercantile approach.

I went for a different historic mercantile inspiration: the Hanseatic League. This was a network of cities and city-states that built a mercantile empire from the Middle Ages to the Early Modern period in Europe, especially in northern Germany, the eastern Netherlands, northern Poland, southern Scandinavia and the Baltics. 

Kaart_Hanzesteden_en_handelsroutes.jpg

(image source: wikipedia)

I plan for this to be a multi-club save, managing in these various countries of the Hanseatic League and only in clubs located in the cities above. The approach everywhere will be a mercantile one: I want to make the clubs I manage rich. Therefore I will try to buy cheap players with potential and sell them on for profit. Winning some prize money will also be helpful :)

set-up-1

image.png.1a5eba699d696b352b2d3827b4c917ca.png

I clicked the "pick a team for me" until a team came up in one of the cities on the map above, and it turned out to be a good starting position. VVV Venlo plays in the Dutch second tier, the Keuken Kampioen Divisie.