Volendam - Continuing the Velvet Revolution.

xLiamReynoldsx

Influcenced by various stories I've been reading over the years, I've decided to start my own career update with FC Volendam. The below is taken from a Sky Sports article which made me want to start this save. It's my first time I've ever done anything like this, so sorry if my formatting is off!

While Ajax’s stadium bears his name and Barcelona seek to return to his principles, if there is one club currently constructed in the image of Johan Cruyff, the game’s footballing philosopher, it can be found in a fishing village just north of Amsterdam.

It is here, at FC Volendam, that some of Cruyff's closest associates are implementing the ideas that the man himself once envisaged for Ajax. It is working. Volendam are top of the Eerste Divisie, unbeaten since August, and aspiring for so much more.

No club in Holland has featured a greater proportion of academy talent in the past two seasons. Cruyff's vision for football endures here under their head coach Wim Jonk, director of football Jasper van Leeuwen and the club's academy chief Ruben Jongkind.

These men were part of the so-called Velvet Revolution at Ajax, when Cruyff tried to take Ajax's academy in another direction with the emphasis on developing individual talent. The politics there saw the Cruyff plan curtailed just months before his passing in 2016.

Now those who sought to realise his ambitions - Jongkind wrote the Cruyff plan, transcribed from conversations with him - are showing what is possible at Volendam instead. "The vision remains the same, the ideas remain the same," Jongkind tells Sky Sports: "It is a club that, when we got here, we found it at the bottom of the table. It had problems with everything, financially, organisationally and commercially. We don't really have a lot of resources so we have to be creative."

A few points to note:

I've already completed the first season, we won promotion via being league champions.