It's Not Over Till the Toffee Lady Sings

TopToffee

**gonna try to make this fairly detailed(ish) so might move pretty slow. this is my first attempt at a CM Story... so be gentle, and bear with me icon_wink.gif**

Sunday 13th July 2003

After a dispute with the Everton board, who said they were unable to authorise funds for transfers, Everton Manager David Moyes today resigned from his post. He stated his regrets at having to leave the club, but said that he felt he was no longer able to perform his duties under the present conditions.

Moyes remarked, "I've very much enjoyed my time at Goodison, and wish them and their new manager all the luck in the world. I also want to thank the Everton fans for the unquestioning support from the time i arrived at the club. I will always hold Everton in a special place in my heart, and who knows, our paths may cross again some day."

Sitting alongside Moyes at the press conference was their new manager, Jamie Mellor. He and the board fielded many questions about his suitability for the job - his lack of experience and relative youth were the main topics.

Everton Deputy Chairman Bill Kenwright had this to say, "We've interviewed Jamie extensively, and we have decided that he is the best man for the job, of those candidates currently available. He was in fact recommended to us by David [Moyes], and we have every faith in his ability to do the job asked of him."

In his statement to the assembled press, Mellor remarked, "I'd like to thank the Everton board for giving me this opportunity, and for taking what may seem a gamble by appointing a manager who many may see as not having the relevent experience. In the coming months, and hopefully years, I will be looking to answer those queries, by continuing the good work which my predecessor started."

After the press conference, Mellor met some of the assembled fans outside the ground.