Tykes & Cedars: Diaries of a Lebanese Football Manager

LeonidasFace

March 28th, 2022

Dear Diary,

Guess this is the first day I start writing on you, huh? Well, to be honest, I’ve tried to do this many times before. They say it’s great for your mental state, your inner peace and all that jazz. Yet, to be honest, I haven’t been feeling much of that pep in my step lately.

But first, let me introduce myself, just in case some rando gets to read you someday.

You can call me B, just B. Not gonna disclose much in terms of my identity, but I’ve been developing software for over 5 years now, working on all kinds of industries. I’ve seen a bunch, done a bunch, traveled a bit here and there. I’ve been accepted for a new gig in the EU, and as soon as I get that Blue Card, I’ll get engaged to my girlfriend of over a year, grab my bags, and start a new life...

Or at least that’s how I’d have introduced myself had it not been for the past week.

There’s something you need to know about life, especially where I live, here in Lebanon: if you’re born here, you’re born to get screwed over. We’re a dysfunctional mess of a country with kleptocrats for rulers who will stop at nothing to keep us poor, needy and depressed. A perfect cocktail to get your youngsters to either immigrate or grab a couple of guns to shoot each other for a bunch of sectarian nonsense. Except that for the past 5 months, our politicians decided that the best way to get their hard-on of sadism was to bad-mouth every single country on the planet that calls them out for their robberies, kill off the planned elections, and institute extensions to the current parliament and presidencies.