Sorting regional divisions based on longitude and latitude

Boofhead54

G'day,

I was wondering if I can organise regional divisions based on the longitude and latitude of a clubs stadium

For example:

Lets say that two clubs from the top division are and placed into two regional divisions (east and west) and two teams are promoted into each division (total of four between the 2 divisions). Is there the ability in the advance editor so that the league is reorganised so that clubs are sorted in the regional divisions based on the precise location of the clubs' stadium?

Any help and recommendations would be helpful.

Maybe somebody knows a more efficient way to do it, as I'm pretty new to the advanced editor, but I've done it manually using latitude and longitude searches.

For example, if I have 40 teams that I want to break into north/south divisions, I move all the teams into one division and then do a club search of that division to bring up all teams.

Now, let's say most are somewhere between 51 and 54 latitude, which I can tell from looking at a map. (Google Maps will allow it. Right click on any map point.) I'll add a field to the search for latitude, enter at least a numerical entry for the latitude, and then change my numerical entry until I get a 50-50 split. At 53 latitude, maybe I'll get 25 teams. So I'll change it to 52.9. I'm down to 24 teams. 52.8 brings me to 23 teams. And so on. Maybe at 52.5 I'll get 20 teams, and there's my split. 

Based on that, I should get a decent idea of where I should put a border, so then I'll look at a map, identify a city that makes a good boundary point, and put it as a division boundary (north or south). Alternately, you can do a city search and use the latitude function the same way. 

I've done the same with longitude and east/west borders. The principle is the same. 

I hope that helps. Good luck!

Edited by AQ

20 hours ago, AQ said: