I don't really like asking for help from other people, but I've been playing this game for two or three years now and I've only ever won one domestic tournament, the Icelandic Third Division, and the Gold Cup once with the USA (but that's not saying much). I used to think it was my players, but now I think my tactical skills are just...awful. This is the tactic I'm using with my (non-Icelandic) team. I feel like it should be working, but it just...isn't. The tactics I use in my other games are all variations of this one, just optimized to the players (i.e., I shift the formation around).

image.png.504784a01fe0c90e749097737429a269.png

I know some players are injured, tired, etc. But I just put them in the squad for this photo so you can see that my players are not that bad.

image.png.659c4b0dd124464ef4cc1c8bbe71d911.png

Sometimes I turn on 'shoot on sight' and 'be more expressive'. We focus play down the left because that is where this particular team is strongest.

image.png.c17a3ae681fd9de25195359801514f51.png

I'm distributing to flanks because we are strongest on the flanks, my AML and AMR are probably my best players.

Anyway, this is the result...a bit of an extreme case, and we did have some players out on U19 international duty, but still, we were expected to have at least drawn the game.

image.png.aa2ad83c9651d17526e5fd59c9ca2ff4.png

I mean, we dominated this match...I know you get unlucky every now and then, and results like that do happen in real life. But it feels like this happens all the time.

So, there you have it, any help is greatly appreciated.