Whats the best measure of how good a player is? Average rating? Genie Scout? Value? Scout reports? Other?

Hey guys!

Im pretty new to the game and trying to figure out how to best assess how good a player is in my team. When looking at for example player value, scout reports, average rating for a season and Genie scout I can get pretty conflicting opinions. For example one of my players who is around the same age as the others, play as many games as them in his preferred position and have no obvious issues is valued at around 3m Euros  (average in the team is around 20) and get around 6.5 average rating for last season (average in the team is around 6.80). Yet Genie scout values him as a current top player in the world (in % for his position). Similarly one of my player with the highest CA and top performer based on average rating for last season (7.10+)  gets a meager 2,5stars current performance from my scout team despite 6.6-6.7-rating for current season-players get 3.5-4 stars from my scouts . So, im curious how you guys assess performance? Whats the most important measure? 

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Attributes, and how well they fit the role based on the job you are asking of a player.

To give some extremes to show it. If you are looking for a Target Man, Messi is not the player you want. If you are looking for a central midfielder who can do the dirty work defensively, you might not want Bruno Fernandes. If you are looking for an out-and-out striker to only score goals, Firmino is not the one.

That said, they are all great players, but they will not perform great in roles not suited for their attribute spread.

So suitability of attributes is the number 1 key for me based on my tactic and what role I play any player in.