FM21: From top of the league to 9 match winless streak. Please help

I'm new to FM, having just moved over from FIFA. My first save was with Man United, as I wanted an easy save with all facilities in place. Won the league after 3 seasons so I decided to try a RTG save, managing FC United of Manchester.

First season was great, got automatically promoted from the Regional division to Vanarama North. 2nd season we finished 5th despite board expectation to avoid relegation. 

My third season started amazing. 9 wins and 1 draw from our first 10 games and we were top of the league. I was mainly using 4-4-2 wingplay. Then we lost to bottom of the league Spennymoor and it's been downhill since. I'm now on a 9 match winless streak (6 draws, 3 losses). We're now in 6th place. Board expectation is top half but still very frustrating since we went from winning with 3-4 goal margins to seemingly forgetting how to score. 

I've been trying out both counter-attacking 4-5-1/5-4-1 as well as my previous 4-4-2 wing play but just can't seem to get out of this rut. The last few matches I've just been trying to avoid defeat and going for counter-attacking but still no luck. Goals conceded tend to start with opposition in the center of the pitch (I've since changed instructions to force opposition outside), then them getting a lofted through to or cross into the penalty box. 

In home games we tend to dominate possession but barely have more shots than opposition. Away games would see less possession and opposition having way more chances. 

We've also been terribly unlucky during our streak- 2 missed penalties that would have turned draws to wins and at least 4 disallowed goals from my Poacher (who I've since moved to Advanced Forward since he keeps being offside).

Is there anything I can do to stop this poor run of form? Or is something wrong with my tactic? I'm lost and just want to give up the game at this point.