Why is my tactic not working?

Hi everyone,

So for starters: I'm a total noob at this game. First time playing and I have one issue: my team just doesn't score. Like, at all. To the point where it's started to look quite ridiculous to be honest, because we do have some occasions, even against better teams. 

I play a 532 with a positive mentality. I'm rather satisfied with the defensive side, since even if we're usually dominated in terms of xG we don't take that much goals. In my first 5 matches in the season I had 4 loses (0-1 each time, except one 0-2 against Lyon who scored a second goal at the end because went all in to try to get a draw) and one draw, 1-1 with a last minute goal on our side from a weird long ball from the defense.

tactic.png.c0ac312a7ed04ffe431d4c0ba44672f3.png

I tried not to use too many TIs. What I want to achieve is a defensively solid, fast-paced tactic, with actions starting from behind through short passes, one-touch actions and a lot of movement in order for my forwards/wingbacks to find spaces and receive deep passes. That's the idea.

with-ball.png.a9d69dc08f08a311789630554c0418c8.pngwithout-ball.png.e4e9f07aac79f24d9461b67512911cd6.pngtransition.png.8b5f889a304f064ace951ec398e79674.png

So the question is: why do I score so little? Because I feel like even we lost, we should at least score more...

Thanks in advance for the help.

Okay, here are my thoughts:

- the right flank is totally exposed defensively (CWB and attacking AP are an extremely risky partnership + such a combo does not help attacking play either)

- the left flank is also exposed, albeit less so than the right (two roaming roles - a very attack-minded wing-back role coupled with a roaming midfield runner)

- defend narrower is not a good idea when you already play in a narrow formation (because that can put too much burden on the wing-backs as the only wide players in the entire system)