[FMT 21] - The second kingdom of the Lombards - Take 2.

For sure, I am not the most inspired when selecting thread titles and I am not even going to be nominated to the Awards next year in that section. Albeit, I am not that good at football manager also, but I do love the game and between family and work I had to turn to the dark side and play for a couple of years FM Touch (Classic sounded much better). In the past edition I have lost motivation on doing "regular" careers and almost always searched for added challenges in playing.

The latest on the list is the "regional challenge" - which means achieving success with only players produced in a certain region (smaller and bigger). Already tried this before (and failed mostly) but in FM21 I will give it another go, and try to achieve success by only using players from Lombardy (or produced by us at our club). Now, Lombardy is the richest, most populous and productive region of the country - so it should be a bit easier than previous attempts which took us in Calabria or Tuscany.

Lombardyaca781f38b069854.jpg

Football clubs in Lombardy. Logo size indicates current level of the league they are in.

From a football point of view (or "calcio" for the traditional ones) Lombardy is one of the most successful in Italy, historically fighting with neighboring Piedmont for the most trophies (I think it falls behind to second at national level but might be first in European cups brought to Italy), and hosting a large selection of football clubs (see above map). Given the small database I will be loading in Touch (to make the save smaller and allow me to cross-play between the work and home computers), I will be counting on those clubs to produce enough quality players for my advancement.