Assessing your Squad - Lower League Help

Hey all,

FM noob here. I've never player FM before, and my football knowledge is moderate at best. I have recently started out a save in the lower leagues. I've taken over mid-season for an underperforming Sperrymoor. Expected to finish 4th, currently sitting in 18th, so on paper at least I should have a decent squad. I really enjoyed this thread, and was looking to take a similar approach, although of course I'm midseason already. But I'm still struggling a bit with the learning curve in terms of how to assess my team and figure out what we might be good at.

In that thread, Rashidi recommends that "you want Acceleration, Positioning/Off the ball, Work rate, Bravery to be between 10-12", and then also additional tactical skills based on role. (I agree with Rashidi, that Team Report looks like it could be helpful, but man it's confusing.) 

So, I just wanted to start to look at my roster I took a quick look at my roster, and I have exactly zero players on the whole roster who meets those requirements. I don't even have a player with all 10s, let alone 12s. Now, perhaps this is representative of why we are underperforming. Perhaps 10-12 is a high bar for Vanarama North. Just looking at the data, I averaged out all of those numbers for my players. 

• I have 7 players who have at least 8 in all 5 of those attributes.
  • I have 7 players who average >= 10 for all of those 5 attributes.
  • I have 9 players who average <10 but >= 9 . 
  • I have 6 players who average <9 (including one with a whopping 6.6 average, making 31k p/a and listed as 3.5 stars).

So, a few questions:

1. Does it make sense that I should think of the 7 who have at least 8 in all of those attributes as "likely to be worth hanging onto"? Or do I really need to look at more before I make that decision? If more, what do you think I should be worth looking at?