How can I improve this tactic

Have only been playing FM20 for a few months, so I'm not too experienced with tactics. Spent a few seasons at Palace before moving to Milan. Did okay at Palace (mid-table) but so far am doing terribly in Italy. 

I've changed the tactic/roles around a few times but to no avail. We do create some chances, however our three centre-forwards (Leao, Silva, Batshuayi) are absolutely awful so most of them are wasted. We can't defend well either - most teams turn into Mourinho's Real Madrid whenever we lose the ball further up the field.

Here are the two tactics I've been using. I started with the tiki-taka one but switched to the gegenpress after our dismal start to the season.

tactic.png

tactic2.png

Made a few tweaks to the tactic, we seem to be much better now both defensively and offensively. We dominated both Torino and Inter, but Silva and Leao... :mad::mad: They wasted more chances than I could count. Judging by their stats they're not terrible strikers so I don't know why they're doing so badly - we've gone four matches without scoring! This obviously isn't acceptable at a club like AC Milan. Please let me know what more I can do to improve this tactic.

game1.png

game2.png

tactic_updated.png

1 hour ago, JackPretzel said:

tactic.png

I don't have the time to comment on all your 3 tactics at the moment, so I'll (for now) focus just on this 1st one (4-2-4). 

Honestly, I am not surprised at all that you are struggling despite managing a strong team with good players. The setup of roles and duties is highly unbalanced, which generally tends to have an adverse effect both in defense and attack.

Let me explain now...

You play in a top-heavy formation with no DM (4-2-4), which is inherently more vulnerable compared to more balanced systems (e.g. 4141dm wide a.k.a. 4123 wide). Which means that you need to pay even more attention to tactical balance than you otherwise should. However, your tactic is lacking any balance at all: