Help needed: The Wide AP (A)

Hey all,

So after much tactical consternation I've finally got my head down and got a few seasons into a VIlla save. @Experienced Defender has given me multiple pointers that have helped me build a good starting tactic but now that I'm starting to evolve into a new team I'm struggling a little. 

It's mainly down to two reasons:

1) I want to build my team around Grealish and McGinn. Grealish has performed best for me as an AP (A) which is a role I've never used out wide before so I am learning how to use it. McGinn I just can't get to function properly.

2) Recruitment. I ended up buying players I liked rather than players that would fit around these players. Principally this has led me to have a tonne of playmaker types in midfield alongside targetmen as strikers and Jarrod Bowen on the right (a  narrow option when I probably need a wide one). 

The tactic

In the screenshot you'll see what I'm currently working with. Now I know that I have a couple of issues here. Firstly there is a distinct lack of penetration and also that I'm very narrow. I realize this is a case of me fitting roles to players rather than building a sound tactic. The end result is a bit of a mess. Often our attacks develop far too slowly and we're giving opposition a chance to get back into defensive shape (I can't diagnose this). We also don't cross enough for my liking (that narrowness I mentioned) and we take too many long shots or hold the ball for too long, passing side to side. 

The problem(s)

1. The AP (A) suits Jack perfectly though the knock on effect of this is that the rest of the tactic needs to built around him. That means the striker on support won't be doing anything for us and the holding midfielder (car) is taking away from our central thrust. Problem is my recruitment has hamstrung me here. How do I make the most of a targetman when I can't play him as a targetman?