new to the game; prospect development question

I'm new to this game and I'm working on my overall knowledge of the sport, but I love the look of this sim.  So far I've set up mentoring for my young guys, bringing up some guys from the youth squads who can benefit from it and play sporadically.  My question is, is it more beneficial for my prospects to come up and be mentored, playing only a bit, or is it better for their development to stay with their youth squads?  And is there anything else I can do to help them improve?  

Actually, one other question comes to mind; Do most people let the AI coaches set the practice schedules?  I don't mind setting it but I'm skeptical whether I'd be able to create a better one...

As far as the AI coaches go, it really depends on how much you want to get involved as well as the quality of those coaches.  I've just moved on from a successful four-year stint at one of the worst teams in the game -- lousy facilities, no money, braindead coaches and all the rest.  I handled most everything except training, particularly youth training.  The reason I didn't handle training is that our facilities were so poor that it wasn't worth the effort.  My success at the club came as a result of bringing in a metric ton of new talent over the four years and largely ignoring the kids coming up through our system.  In short, you will likely do a better hands-on job than even the best of coaches; the real question is how much time and effort you wish to put into it AND whether the results will be worth the investment.  It can be rewarding but it can also be a lot of work, setting up and maintaining and adjusting the schedules.

If you are at a big club with top coaches, then I suspect that you could happily leave training to them and only input when asked.  If you have poor coaches, you could [probably do a better job but it needs some extra work this way.

Welcome to the forum :).

6 hours ago, casperthegm said: