Horrendous downturn in form. Please help!

I have no prior FM experience. I started FM 19 with a level 7 (regional premier) club which was expected to finish mid-table. After experimenting with tactics I settled on a control possession 442 and won the league by a point. I did face downturns of form in that season and found that with some team talks and a game or two with different tactic, we recovered.

Upon promotion to the National League South I decided to play with the same tactic and formation as I didn't see any reason to change just yet. We were expected to battle against relegation. I used my vastly increased wage budget to bring in a few players and the first half of the season was a dream, reaching 11th in the league and making it through to the 1st round of the FA cup. Here's where everything goes wrong.

We get knocked out of the FA cup 2-1 by a League 2 team, which is a thoroughly acceptable result. I may have been too hard on the players in the team talk and would have accepted this as an explanation of perhaps a 3 game bad spell. However, since that loss we have suffered a further 11 losses, with 2 wins and a draw from the proceeding 14 league games. There have been no changes in tactic or formation, except in desperation after about 6 or 7 losses and some minor instruction tweaks. A couple of players have been brought in during the season but they've been theoretically improvements to the squad.

My main issue is that the players look like they've completely forgotten how to play football. My best striker can no longer hit the target, every player is playing long aimless balls, every player makes strange short passes to no one which are abruptly intercepted, when pressing they just follow the opposition player around not putting in any tackles, the opposition can just run at us freely while we leave players off the ball unmarked and unseen. This wasn't happening before, we were making very good attacking plays seemingly obeying the tactic.