Jump to content

FM09: The Official Torquay United Thread

gus crazy

Recommended Posts

Torquay United Football Club, nicknamed the Gulls, is an English association football club based in the seaside resort town of Torquay, Devon. They play in the Blue Square Premier. Founded in 1899, they joined The Football League in 1927 and spent their entire time in the Football League until now. The club plays in a distinctive yellow and navy strip.

Torquay United prided themselves on being the biggest club in the devonand to remain debt-free despite the debacle of the ITV Digital collapse. 'Penny-wise and pound-foolish' was an oft-repeated observation of things at Plainmoor, particularly under the chairmanship of Mike Bateson before leaving.

Torquay's traditional rivals are fellow Devon clubs Plymouth Argyle and Exeter City. However the latter has always been the fiercer rivalry as Argyle have tended to be in a higher division throughout their history until Torquay's recent push into the top of English football and so the two teams rarely meet. There is also an element of Argyle fans who admit to a soft spot for the Gulls (much like the larger London teams are always happy for the likes of Barnet, who have never played in the top flight, to have a small degree of success).

2008/2009 squad

No. Position Player

1 GK Michael Poke (on loan from Southampton)

2 MF Michael Brough

3 DF Kevin Nicholson

4 DF Steve Woods (captain)

5 DF Chris Robertson

6 DF Chris Todd

7 MF Lee Mansell

8 FW Tim Sills

9 FW Elliot Benyon

10 FW Roscoe D'Sane

11 MF Nicky Wroe

12 MF Tyrone Thompson

14 MF Chris Hargreaves

15 MF Wayne Carlisle

16 MF Lee Hodges

17 FW Matt Green

18 MF Mustapha Carayol

19 MF Danny Stevens

20 GK Scott Bevan (on loan from Shrewsbury Town)

21 GK Martin Rice (on loan to Truro City)

22 FW Ashley Yeoman

24 MF Steve Adams

25 DF Mark Ellis

26 DF Raiff Gwinnett (on loan to Tiverton Town)

27 DF Jamie Todd (on loan to Truro City)

29 DF Luke Barrett

31 GK Lewis Bellringer


League Two (1960's promotions gained in the "Fourth Division" era)

Third Place: 1959/60, 1965/66, 2003/04

Third Division South (Prior to League re-structuring)

Runners Up: 1956/1957

Southern League (Western Section)

Winners (1): 1926/27

Plymouth and District League

Winners (1): 1911/12

Torquay and District League

Winners (1): 1908/09

Football League Trophy

Runners up 1988/89

FA Trophy

Runners up 2007/08

Devon Senior Cup

Winners (2): 1910/11 and 1921/22

Devon Bowl/Devon St Luke's Bowl

Winners (15): 1934, 1935, 1937, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1955(Shared), 1958, 1961, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1996(Shared), 1998, 2007

Runners Up (17): 1923, 1931, 1933, 1938, 1939, 1954, 1959, 1960, 1962, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1974, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2003

Link to post
Share on other sites


I'm a Torquay fan, nice to see an official thread for them :)

2 things though, the bottom 3 players on the squad list, never heard of them before, and I'm pretty sure they aren't Torquay players, the other thing is that Chris Hargreaves is captain, not Steve Woods, but they're only little things.

I started a game as Torquay on the demo but haven't really played it much, Tim Sills is rated well, and the whole squad are rated a lot better than last year.

Hope to see people playing as Torquay this year! They have a OK budget for BSP, and have a good squad aswell.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

I was gonna start this thread up as I started with Torquay the other day.

Takes alot of wheeling and dealing to get a team together here.

Wage budget is the main problem.

Best signings are

Dean Bowditch - £0 - Ipswich

Fabio - Loan - Man Utd

Bertrand Bossu - £0 - Aberdeen

Josep Manuel Ayala - £0 - Binefar

Mathieu Viel - £0 - Concarneau

Pascal Bedrossian - £0 - Crozon (old but amazing for me)

Marco Pelosi - £0 - Hearts

Link to post
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...