A Query About Tactics

So I've started a You Tube series called "Help a Yank Learn FM".  I've been playing off and on since FM 2009 but find I quickly lose interest.  Not because of the game itself (I love soccer...hey, I said I'm a Yank..lol) but because the game has a steep learning curve and it honestly appears to be no way to truly learn it and get better at it.  The only success I've had is in downloading plug and play tactics off Steam or elsewhere but I get jaded with that because (to me) it feels like cheating.

So what I am trying to figure out, is if there are tiers of tactics that are better at certain levels of the game.  For example, I am playing a 4-3-1-2 Narrow as my primary tactic with a 4-1-2-3 Wide and a base 4-3-1-2 as my backup tactics.  So one of my viewers mentioned that this tactic is "hard to play at the level I'm at".  I'm playing Colchester in SBL2 in that save.  He goes on to discuss midfielder needs as compared to what I currently have.  But in using what the game gives me as a player (ie the highlighted stats and recommended playing positions and styles) I'm using them in roles that they appear suited to.  So obviously I can't trust what the game is telling me.  Which brings me back to my frustration in how exactly is a casual player ever supposed to learn all the BS that the game requires to even win a match?

Anyway, rant aside..lol, if a 4-3-1-2 is "too advanced" for League 2 then is there a chart somewhere of basic tactic shapes to draw from based on the level you are attempting to manage?  In looking at the top teams in the competition currently they are playing a basic 4-4-2 or a 4-2-3-1.  In the Premier, Arsenal is playing the same 4-2-3-1 as are many in that league.  Down in Championship I see more of the 4-2-3-1 and 4-4-2.  So is the game saying those are the "better" formations to use and basically just look what other teams are using?