The Iron Man

lolgasm

Authors notes: I do not have the patch installed. I am working with all leagues loaded from England. I am not a writer, I have never thought myself to be one, I looked at these stories and decided I was going to give it a shot. All characters are completely fictional.

"Welcome to the club, I hope you have a long stay with us." The chairman shook hands with me.

"Thanks, and I'm sure I will. See you tomorrow!" With a smile on my face, I walked away from the Cressing Road Stadium, home to Braintree Town.

I had been unemployed for 8 months, following a 14 year spell with Huddersfield. I started of there as a player, but due to a knee injury, I had retired at 27 years of age. A year after retiring and having accomplished myself as a qualified coach, I found myself applying and being accepted as youth coach of Huddersfield. The manager, Alfie Patterson, accepted me immediately, hoping I would be able to pass on my knowledge of the game to the younger generation. But 4 years later, all this changed after a takeover from some Dubai-based millionaires. They sacked Alfie and hired a new manager, Ryan Westwood. He promptly sacked me, along with several other members of staff.

So here I found myself accepting a job as manager of Braintree Town, nicknamed The Iron. 2 years ago, the club had been non-league. After being promoted, they finished just outside of the Blue Square South automatic promotion places, in 3rd place and then went on to lose in the play-offs. With the board wanting the club established as a mid table team, I felt I could do that. I focused myself on attempting to lower the club's debt. The wage budget was only £85 per week, and with the average wage being £115 per week, we were well over it.