Football Manager Data Warehouse and Analytics Project

BIO

My name is Rory Houlihan and I am a Data Architect living and working in Prague. My job requires me to load, manipulate and store data for Data Analytics and Data Mining purposes. Given the amount of data in Football Manager, I thought it might be interesting and fun to try and build some sort of Data Analytics dashboards and reports to use to help me make decisions in my Football Manager career.

I haven’t played any football management simulation game in about ten years, so obviously my first step will be to start playing again and to re-immerse myself into the world of Football Manager.

AIM

To build a set of reports and dashboards to help me or any other Football Manager out there to better understand the underlying data in their saved game. This includes but is not limited to:

• Players
  • Coaching Staff
  • Scouts
  • Finances
  • Opposition Teams and players

Blogging

During the course of building this system, I will blog on the various steps that I undertook to complete the task. This way anyone else interested in building the same system will have a step by step approach on how to do it. I will also include various design and implantation ideas on the blog and hopefully open a discussion with the community on possible drawbacks to my solution and alternate solutions that might also work.

I will also blog about any football management careers that I embark on and hopefully include some of my end reports in here to help explain why certain decisions were taken over alternative ones.

Overview of Architecture

Here is a brief overview of the architecture of the system that I hope to build:

• Extract as much data as possible in raw format from the Football Manager save game database. (So far this may prove to be one of the most difficult tasks)
  • Bulk load this data into a SQL Server staging Database.
  • Load this data using SSIS into a target Football Manager Data Warehouse.